American Fest.

Friday was The Husband’s birthday, so of course we had to fill our day with homework and actual work instead of playing around Paris during our school break.  Lucky for us, The Husband’s Parental Units gave us some money to go out for his birthday, so we were able to have a night out on the town!

We’re in the process of selling two of The Husband’s guitars and buying one here, so of course the night started out with some guitar trying, after which I made The Husband take a romp into Zara so I could use some of my birthday money to buy two new cardigans and a shirt (all of which I already own in various colors…  What can I say, when I find something I like I buy it as many times as possible!).

After much debating, The Husband decided he wanted a meal that reminded him of home, so we went to Breakfast in America for a traditional fatty American dinner of a hamburger and fries, a veggie burger and fries, and an Obama milkshake (half peanut-butter half chocolate, haha).  Funny story, we were the only Americans there at one point, and all the French people were eating their enormous hamburgers with knives and forks.  Of course, we had to show them the “American” way and shove our faces full with our hands.  It was great.

The America fest continued on Saturday morning when we had The Husband’s friend, K-Pop, over for brunch.  Scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, and pumpkin pancakes with syrup — BEST AMERICAN BREAKFAST EVER!

We had a little fun after breakfast with one of my birthday presents…

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

In case you didn’t know, peanut butter, pumpkin, cheddar cheese, doughnuts, and syrup are all things not commonly sold here.  So if anyone wants to ship me a huge crate of those I’d be happy to have them!  They do sell randomly delicious things like goat cheese potato chips and fajita doritos here though!  And don’t even get me started on the cheese and baguettes….

 

Any food you think we should try that we don’t have in America?

6 comments
  1. Meagen said:

    OH MY GOSH you two are so cute.

  2. MK said:

    The Husband looks way too happy with that mustache on his face! haha

    • katherinecurrent said:

      Woman, I know, right? And when can we talk?!?!?!?!

  3. katherinecurrent said:

    Haha, thanks Meagen! We think we’re pretty cute too…

  4. Hi! Another author here. It will take me a little
    while to warm up my writing ability. Sometimes, I even get distracted.
    How do you get over such interruptions? Lots of things are moving in my
    head and I can’t place it down as naturally as you’re
    able to. Might need some suggestions here.

    • katherinecurrent said:

      I just go. Just sit down, don’t think about it, and write exactly what you’re thinking about. No editing. Hence the natural feel, haha.

Leave a Reply

