Nuit Blanche 2013 – the actual artsy stuff

After our walk around the quartier, The Husband and I hit up the modern art museum that everybody loves to hate on, the Centre Pompidou.  Now, I think the building is pretty cool, but most of what I hear is “OMG that building is so ugly”.  Haters gonna hate, I guess.

Anyways, The Husband and I spent an hour walking around the free galleries for the night, taking in the art and generally enjoying ourselves.  I happen to love any kind of art, no matter what it looks like, so I was in heaven!

We met up with the Baguettes for a trip to Pizza Hut and then walked over to Place de la République to see our last installation of the night, this cool fog piece.  They had filled the whole place with fog by placing machines throughout the whole intersection.  While it was definitely amazing and worth the walk, we didn’t end up staying very long because we were starting to hear lots of breaking glass, people yelling, and fights breaking out.  Although the installation was cool, the fact that you couldn’t see more than 4 feet in any direction mixed with the copious amounts of alcohol that people seem to drink for Nuit Blanche didn’t seem to be helping the police keep things under control.  Sad that the exhibit had to be tainted that way for us, but I’m glad we got to experience it at least!  It was definitely one of those once in a lifetime things.

Nuit Blanche 2013: I would call you a success!

Nuit Blanche
Nuit Blanche
Nuit Blanche
Nuit Blanche
Nuit Blanche
Nuit Blanche
Nuit Blanche
Nuit Blanche
Nuit Blanche
Nuit Blanche
Nuit Blanche
Nuit Blanche

2 comments
  1. Oxalys said:

    1. I love Pompidou ! I think it’s such a cool building ! whatever the others say, they’re wrong !
    2. I love that you’re calling them the Baguettes. This is great.
    3. Those photos make me wish I’d actually ever taken the time to got check out the art there.
    love you !

    • katherinecurrent said:

      Haha, I’m glad you love it too! I think its pretty awesome… I did have someone come up to me at church last week and ask what “that ugly building across the street was”, haha…. Woman, go spend time there when you come back! I miss you! and I love you!

Leave a Reply

