Tour Paris 13

All I wanted to do for my birthday this year was to see the Tour Paris 13.

For those of you not up on your Parisian pop culture, the Tour Paris 13 was an amazing art project that was sponsored for the month of October and then promptly demolished.  An old building in the 13e was turned over to 80+ graffiti artists, transforming the old space into something entirely new and different for Paris.  The exhibition was only open for 30 days, following which the building was destroyed to make way for construction.

Because of our schedules earlier on in the month (read: me having to finish my thesis) we were only able to go to the Tour on the last Saturday that it was open.  Bad. Idea.  Although I was able to get some great shots of the building from the outside, I was unable to enter!  Why, you ask?  It may have had something to do with the lines for the exhibition being on average 12 hours long for the last 2 weeks of the exhibition….

While I think this will forever be one of those things that I kick myself over, I’m glad I at least got to see this amazing building from the outside.  It’s not often that something this “new” makes its way to Paris, so it was a welcome sight for me in the fact that it definitely reminded me of some of the street art back home.  Not to mention the front of the building, which you’ll have to check out for yourself!

Although I didn’t get to enter the building, the outside view made this a birthday to remember!

Paris
Paris
Paris
Paris
Paris
Paris

2 comments
  1. Meagen said:

    Wow! I never imagined something like that. That is so neat.

    • katherinecurrent said:

      I know, right? Its incredible how beautiful it was!

Leave a Reply

